top of page

What are Chakras and Blocked Energy?

You are energy.  All living things are created by and comprised of energy.  The ability of your energy centres to function optimally is what keeps you psychologically, emotionally, physically, and spiritually balanced.  

Chakras are seven energy centres in your body which affect your well-being.

Chakras get blocked by negative energy which is not able to release from the body.  Negative energy comes from having experienced traumatic life experiences or emotional challenges.  Releasing this toxic energy is an important strategy on your journey to holistic well-being.

You can align or maintain chakras by using many methods such as nutrition, sound, toning, essential oils, elements (ie. earth, water etc.) visualization and of course, wearing or decorating with colour. 

When energy is stuck in one or more particular chakras, using colour may help the energy flow again.

How to choose a Healing Chakra Bracelet?

Trace of monk meditating in lotus positi
  • Do you need assistance in determining which chakra is blocked? 

  • What colours to choose?

There are many ways to choose a bracelet but the most common one is to use your own intuition to guide in choosing. 


Our energy centres have a particular energy frequency that resonates with certain colours that have a similar frequency.  

For example:


  • if you are not feeling secure or grounded, you may be drawn to wearing red.  Maybe your root chakra is not in balance.

  • If you are not feeling loved, you may be drawn to wearing green or pink.  Maybe your heart chakra is not in balance.

  • If you are not feeling like you can share your opinion (your own inner truth), Maybe your throat chakra in not in balance.

Often, a person's favourite colour is a place to start.  Especially if you are purchasing a gift for another person.

Stones of Meaning
New Blue and Black logo with script WIDE

Signs of Blocked Chakras and stones for healing


Root Chakra

1st Chakra

Also known as Muladhara


Sacral Chakra

2nd Chakra

Also known as Svadisthana

Root Chakra Blocked

(Courage & Self-Preservation)

  • ​Overly fearful about security and survival

  • Ungrounded

  • Flighty

  • Generally fearful

  • Feeling of not belonging anywhere

  • Poor health


  • Overly practical 

  • Lacking dreams and imagination

  • Habitual

  • Tied down

  • Difficulty letting go

Sacral Chakra Blocked


  • Emotionally cold

  • Difficulty changing

  • Difficulty experiencing joy

  • Holds back


  • Hyper-emotional

  • Overly sexual

  • Overly focused on physical pleasure

  • Guilty

Stones for Root Chakra

Colours of stones:​  Red or Black, also brown and grey

Stones used for:  Protection, grounding, stability, physical energy, will power and security

Specific Stones:  Bloodstone, black tourmaline, garnet, black or red hematite, onyx, pyrite, rhodochrosite, red zincite, red jasper, red or black obsidian, ruby and/or smoky quartz

Stones for Sacral Chakra

Colours of stones:​  Orange, also blue-green and light brown

Stones used for:  Creativity, cleansing, intuition, sexuality, reproduction desire and emotion

Specific Stones:  Amber, carnelian, fluorite, tiger iron, tiger's eye, turquoise and vanadinite


Solar Plexus Chakra

3rd Chakra

Also known as ManiPura

Solar Plexus Chakra Blocked

(Personal Power)

Stones for Solar Plexus Chakra

  • Lack of confidence

  • Difficulty manifesting desires

  • Lack of self-esteem


  • Misuse of power

  • Dominance

  • Over-reliance on will

  • Shame

Colours of stones:​  Yellow and gold

Stones used for:  Ambition, intellect, personal power and protection

Specific Stones:  Ametrine, amber, calcite, citrine, tiger's eye/iron, topaz, turquoise and yellow jasper


Heart Chakra

4th Chakra

Also known as Anahata

Heart Chakra Blocked


Stones for Heart Chakra

  • Loneliness

  • Lack of emotional fulfillment

  • Difficulty accepting or giving love

  • Lack of compassion


  • Unhealthy relationships

  • "Loving too much"

  • Love manifesting at a low vibration


  • A lack of sense of connection to the divine or to nature

  • Unresolved sorrow

Colours of stones:​  Green and pink, also red

Stones used for:  Love, compassion, emotions, balance, universal consciousness

Specific Stones:  Chrysoprase, chrysocolla, emerald, green aventurine, jade, malachite, peridot, rose quartz, ruby, unakite, watermelon and tourmaline


Throat Chakra

5th Chakra

Also known as Vishuddi

Throat Chakra Blocked


Stones for Throat Chakra

  • Inability to communicate ideas

  • Problems with self-expression (expressing your own truth)

  • Problems with creativity


  • Uncontrolled

  • Low-value

  • Inconsistent communication

  • Manipulative

  • Deceptive of self or others

Colours of stones:​  Blue

Stones used for:  Communication, clarity, self-expression and truth

Specific Stones:  Angelite, amazonite, blue calcite, blue lace agate, blue kyanite, blue topaz, sodalite and turquoise


Third Eye Chakra

6th Chakra

Also known as Ajna

Third Eye Blocked


Stones for Third Eye Chakra

  • Lack of imagination

  • Lack of vision

  • Lack of concentration

  • Blocked or clouded intuition

  • Can't see "big picture"


  • Distorted vision

  • Delusional

  • Distorted imagination

  • Misuse of intuition


  • Overly reliant on logic and intellect

Colours of stones:​  Indigo and Purple, also red

Stones used for:  Spiritual awareness, psychic abilities, intuition and inner wisdom

Specific Stones:  Amethyst, azurite, lapiz lazuli, pietersite, sapphire and sugilite


Crown Chakra

7th Chakra

Also known as Sahasrara

Crown Chakra Blocked


  • Ungrounded

  • Impractical

  • Indecisive

  • Difficulty with finishing things

  • No common sense

  • Depressed

  • Alienated

  • Confused


  • Cut off from spirituality

  • Plagued by sense of meaninglessness

  • Delusional

  • Grandiose

Stones for Crown Chakra

Colours of stones:​  Violet and White/Clear, also pink and light purple

Stones used for:  Enlightenment, cosmic, consciousness, and universal/source energy

Specific Stones:  Amethyst, clear quartz, diamond, quartz and serpentine

If you need further assistance, please send me an e-mail and I will be happy to assist you.

New Blue and Black logo NO Script.png
bottom of page